Update: New Beginnings

goethequote

I encountered this quote late last year during a phase of self-evaluation and resolution making, and as such, it felicitously became the general motto of my ongoing Resolution. It’s a resolution that I started working on last year and one that I am slowly but surely making progress in – acting on my ideas. Action is what made this blog possible and also what drove me to start my own science podcast, both of which I have immensely enjoyed and still have a passion for. This year, however, has been a barrage of challenges that have admittedly been difficult to navigate. Particularly towards the end of 2016, it essentially put some of my projects on halt, such as this blog and the podcast. But the skies seem to have cleared and with it, I have renewed energy and opportunity to move forward.

I greatly appreciate all the support this blog and the podcast has received since their respective inceptions. The small audience both of these platforms have attracted is made up of such cool and fantastic people, some of whom I’m grateful I’ve been able to connect with via Twitter and other means. You also rekindle my energy to keep thinking and to keep acting. So this year, here’s what you can expect on here, on the podcast, and from me in general in an effort to give back to you.

  1. More blog posts on here! I’ll be continuing mini-science write-ups and also talk a bit about my academic experiences, but I’d like to know which topics tickle your particular fancy (or if you’d like to suggest new topics, as well). Do let me know your thoughts via the Twitter poll below or via email – I value your input greatly.
  2. Synapse Science is coming back! This project has admittedly been challenging, especially because my production crew is made up of just one woman (me!). But it has been more than worth it as I’ve had the unique opportunity to chat with some awesome science peeps on and off the air because of it. The format of the show is in the process of being tweaked, so while we’re gearing back up, feel free to contact me if you and/or someone you know would make for a great guest on the show!
  3. I have a few more science communication projects I’m cooking up, plus I’ll be starting up some creative work to share online, too. Once the details on those projects are more solidified and confirmed, I’ll be sure to share them with you over on my Twitter.

Lastly, I want to mention very briefly another serendipitous quote I came across during the same time last year. It’s this excerpt by Ira Glass about the seeming futility of pursuing your passions in the face of an inevitable gap between envisioned and resulting quality:

Personally, I know my work can always be better, and it can be frustrating at times to try your darndest for something that doesn’t quite have the sparkle to it that you were hoping for. But the only way to paint a masterpiece is to learn how to use a brush. The only way to finish a marathon is to learn how to make it through half a mile first. And the only way to get better at something is to start it and keep working at it. So to my fellow creators, I leave you with yet another quote for when you’re feeling the most creatively futile. Happy New Year!

“We know only too well that what we are doing is nothing more than a drop in the ocean. But if the drop were not there, the ocean would be missing something.”
― Mother Teresa

Sic itur ad astra
Alexa 🔬

Leave a Reply

